Red Hat Certified Engineer

A Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) is a Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) who possesses the additional skills, knowledge, and abilities required of a senior system administrator responsible for Red Hat Enterprise Linux


SKILLS:Prove your skills and knowledge

An RHCE is capable of RHCSA tasks plus the following:

· Configuring static routes, packet filtering, and network address translation

· Setting kernel runtime parameters

· Configuring an Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI) initiator

· Producing and delivering reports on system utilization

· Using shell scripting to automate system maintenance tasks

· Configuring system logging, including remote logging

· Configuring a system to provide networking services, including HTTP/HTTPS, File Transfer Protocol (FTP), network file system (NFS), server message block (SMB), Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP), secure shell (SSH) and Network Time Protocol (NTP)

AUDIENCE:Is this certification right for you?

The following audiences may be interested in earning RHCE:

· RHCSAs who wish to earn a more senior-level credential.

· Experienced senior system administrators who have not yet certified.

· Course participants in Red Hat Training who have completed System Administration I, II, and III, or who have completed the RHCE Rapid Track Course.

· Experienced system administrators who require certification for their job or by mandate (e.g., US Department of Defense Directive 8570).

EXAMS: Test your skills and knowledge

Note: There is no requirement that these exams be taken and passed on the same release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

EX200 - Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) exam

EX300 - Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) exam


TRAINING:The best way to learn is to do

Windows system administrators with minimal Linux experience:

· Red Hat System Administration I (RH124)

· Red Hat System Administration II (RH134)

· Red Hat System Administration III (RH254)

Linux or UNIX administrators with 1-3 years of experience:

· RHCSA Rapid Track Course (RH199)

· Red Hat System Administration III (RH254)

RHCEs who wish to re-certify:

· RHCE Certification Lab

Course Application